HSPRD’s Response to COVID-19 – Click here for more details


DHS Releases Updated Version of M-274, Handbook for Employers: Guidance for Completing Form I-9

On Monday, April 29, 2020, USCIS issued an updated version of its M-274, Handbook for Employers: Guidance for Completing Form I-9.  This new release provides expanded information on properly completing the most recent edition of Form I-9, Employment Eligibility Verification, and also provides clarifications and new guidance on a number of points. Among the new sections contained in the updated M-274 is a section providing guidance on how to complete Form I-9 with EADs automatically extended by Federal Register notices.  Additionally, the new Handbook provides major clarification on calculating time periods related to Form I-9 retention, other retention guidelines, and electronic Form I-9 Requirements, among others.

If you would like further information on the updated Handbook,  setting up a an I-9 compliance program, or representation in I-9 matters, please contact one of the following attorneys in our practice group.

Kalman D. Resnick at kresnick@hsplegal.com
Robert W. Krug at rkrug@hsplegal.com
Ian D. Wagreich at iwagreich@hsplegal.com
William B. Schiller at wschiller@hsplegal.com
Chirag Badlani at cbadlani@hsplegal.com
Kendra Scheuerlein at kscheuerlein@hsplegal.com
Kelli Fennell at kfennell@hsplegal.com
Susan Gzesh at sgzesh@hsplegal.com

Back To Top